Friday, July 02, 2010

Glos romp home at Bristol

t20: Gloucestershire 154-2 beat Glamorgan 153-7 by eight wickets

Will Porterfield and Steve Kirby turned in personal-best performances to help Gloucestershire to a crushing victory over Glamorgan at Bristol.

Gloucestershire's batting has fired before this season, usually thanks to James Franklin. On this occasion it was Porterfield - clearly an improved cricketer from international experience - who stepped up with 65 from just 27 balls to see the home side race to their target with four overs to spare.

Porterfield has looked useful at the top order in t20 without making a significant score. He lacks power but compensates with innovation and wonderful timing. For a small man to strike four sixes on a large ground was some achievement.

A better achievement was taking 26 of one Chris Ashling over as the visitors were dominated for the second evening in succession.

The Welsh county - without Shaun Tait, whose raw pace troubled Gloucestershire at Cardiff - now have a very mediocre bowling attack. Their best bowler - Dean Cosker - went for 10-an-over as Gloucestershire took advantage to win at an absolute canter: it was as convincing a run chase as you will see.

Aaron Redmond is yet to justify his overseas-star tag. One over for 17 and a 33 from 25 balls was another modest contribution. His fellow countryman also batted modestly but James Franklin and Hamish Marshall needed only to score at a run-a-ball because Porterfield had blazed Gloucestershire's trail to victory.

Glamorgan lacked Tait's pace; Gloucestershire had Steve Kirby's firepower - a crucial factor in t20. Kirby claimed his best return in the shortest format as the home side kept their slim hopes of qualification alive.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please click the above advertisment - it will generate revenue for Glos Cricket Radio.


CLICK HERE for the latest Gloucestershire Cricket updates.
The views expressed on this website are those of the author and not necessarily those of Gloucestershire County Cricket Club.