Monday, October 12, 2009

Kirby named in Team of the Year

Steve Kirby was named in the Professional Cricketer's Association's team-of-the-year at an awards dinner last week.

The accolade follows being named Gloucestershire player & bowler of the year, and is further reward for a fine season by the 32-year-old, in which he claimed 64 first-class wickets.

Kirby has performed magnificently for the Shire this season, and led the line wonderfully well with his raw determination providing some memorable spells throughout the season, most notably his 5-44 in the second innings against Kent at Beckenham, when he fought Glos back into the match despite a good batting wicket and unbearably hot conditions.

Steve Kirby is a fantastic character to have on a cricket field, always wears his heart on his sleeve and will hopefully continue to spearhead the attack next season.

PCA Team of the Year:

Marcus Trescothick (Somerset), Andrew Strauss (Middlesex & England, captain), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire & England), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Ian Blackwell (Durham), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), James Foster (Essex, wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England), James Tredwell (Kent), Graham Onions (Durham & England), Steve Kirby (Gloucestershire)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please click the above advertisment - it will generate revenue for Glos Cricket Radio.


CLICK HERE for the latest Gloucestershire Cricket updates.
The views expressed on this website are those of the author and not necessarily those of Gloucestershire County Cricket Club.